11.7 C
Tuesday, March 21, 2023

The Under-20 World Cup Indonesia 2023 already knows its 24 participants

ANDL Under 20 World Cup Indonesia 2023, which will take place from 20 May to 11 June, already knows its 24 participants. With the classification of Japan For the quarter-finals of the Asian category, all confederations already know who their representatives will be in the next world competition.

Furthermore Indonesiaclassified as visitors and returned 44 years later to an Under-20 World Cup, the Asian confederation will have in Iraq, Japan, South Korea and Uzbekistan to the rest of its participants. None of them were world champions in the category, although the South Koreans finished as runners-up in the edition of Poland 2019.

UEFA, for its part, will once again have five teams, including holders Ukraine, eliminated in the second qualifying round for having worse discipline than Serbia, who qualified in the last round and drew in all tiebreaks with Ukrainians.

yes they will be England (champion in 2017), France (champion in 2013), Italy, Slovakia and Israelwho will make his debut in an Under-20 World Cup and achieved his first qualification for a FIFA tournament since joining UEFA in 1994.

In the same second round he fell Ukraine the selection also fell Spanishwho were only able to draw the two matches against Austria and Denmark, in the mini-tournament played a year ago in La Nucia.

In South America the big surprise was the fiasco of Mascherano’s Argentine team. The Albiceleste, the most successful team in the category with six world titles, finished fourth in the final group, behind Brazil (five titles), Colombia and Paraguaywhich will be the three teams representing CONMEBOL in Indonesia.

Senegal won the sub 20 vs. title Gambia and both will be in Indonesia. The Gambia will play their second World Cup after the one played in 2007. They will be too Nigeria (13th participation) e Tunisiawho returns 38 years later to the competition.

In CONCACAF the great absentee will be Mexico, who lost in the round of 16 of their qualifying tournament against Guatemala, who will play the Under 20 World Cup 12 years later. They will be too United States, Honduras and the Dominican Republic which was the big surprise and which will be together with Israel, the only debutant in the Indonesian tournament. The Dominicans will play in a FIFA tournament for the first time in their history.

Fiji and New Zealand it will be the representatives of Oceania who will reach the final of their qualifying tournament.

Latest news
Related news


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here